Uncategorized

I Fell on Black Days

So we’re sitting at slightly less than 3 days until the craniotomy.

It’s all about the small distractions at this point:

Go out for dinner – check!  (slightly too many drink…don’t judge me!)

Play some videogames – check! (Who has time for that with kids?)

Apply for EI – check!  (Now I just wait for that sweet, sweet government money to start rolling in)

Get an okay from the Dr to “keep myself calm” the day before – check!

Go back to the pre admission Clinic get blood tests they forgot to give me last time – check!  (Although they’re not inspiring me with confidence by forgetting and then also leaving a message with the wrong phone number to contact them at to get it sorted out.)

Listen to some new vinyl – check!  (I completely forgot I ordered a Chris Cornell album a couple of weeks ago)

FB_IMG_1412621587064

I can’t believe how much listening to albums that I already own affect me emotionally now.  When I saw Chris Cornell earlier this year in an acoustic concert he blew me away.  I have the digital version of this album but it doesn’t even come close to the analog version.  Where did we go wrong with how we take in music?  Our music has fallen on black days (to coin a phrase).

Standard

3 thoughts on “I Fell on Black Days

  1. Hey i just found your blog browsing through some tags. I just skimmed through your whole blog. My hubby has Stage 3 Oligodendroglioma. His was a sudden onset , a seizure leading to a hospital trip leading to a transfer of hospitals and having surgery right away. Unfortunately his tumor was cancerous and he had to undergo aggressive treatment. But his tumor was located almost exactly the same spot. He had his tumor removed feb 2011. He is doing much better.

    Google killed us during it all. His median survival rate per google is 3.5-5 years. We drove his doctors nuts with “google says…” complaints to the point his neuro oncologist forbade us from using google. Didn’t work we still googled anyway.

    But some words of comfort. My hubby’s surgery was exactly 4 hours. It went well. He was asleep for his though, so that’s different. He could speak and walk and function and understand. Directly after surgery he had a slight stutter but it went away and only when he is tired does it come out but only people like me that knows him on a daily basis notices. It’s actually all the Cancer treatments that is limiting him. He is suffering long term symptoms from the cancer treatments and has arthritis is several joints and muscles that were in the radiation path. Mostly he has sensitivity to the surgery site, even still. All the muscles and nerves that were severed are sensitive and anything sets off pain or a migraine. But, medications remedy that. It’s mostly the after affects of the cancer treatments that are his challenge now.

    I hope you find it comforting to hear of another person with the same time of tumor . For us it was all so daunting because it’s such a rare type of tumor/cancer and there was no one to talk to about it.

  2. tomi says:

    I don’t know what a craniotomy entails, but my thoughts and wishes are with you. There really aren’t any appropriate words for this, are there?

Leave a comment